Changing a Sync Encryption Key
Should you need to change your sync encryption key, you can do so by simply unsubscribing from your existing provider and re-subscribing with the new encryption key:
- Back up your Generators
- Tap Passify's menu button and open the "Settings" panel
- Swipe to the Sync Provider section and tap the Sync Provider item
- Your current sync settings are shown
- Tap the "Disconnect" button
- Passify will prompt you whether to keep the data or delete it
Tap the "Delete remote data and disconnect" button
Data must be removed from provider If you plan to use the same Sync Provider, you must remove your existing sync data from the remote provider or Passify will be unable to sync with your new encryption key.
- Disconnect all other devices subscribed to the same provider
- Re-configure your sync provider with the new encryption key, on this device and then on each of your other devices
Old copies keep the old key Backups you made earlier, and any copies of the old sync file (for example in your provider's version history), can still be opened with the old encryption key. Delete any you no longer need, especially if you changed the key because it may have been exposed.